Photo Credit: Whitley Fund for Nature

Awards & recognition


Below is a selection of SOS grantees whose work and achievements have also been recognised through various conservation prizes and awards. We congratulate them and likewise all conservationists who dedicate their energies to championing the conservation of plants and animals, their habitats and the by extension the people who depend on them.



2017 - Whitley Award: Indira Lacerna-Widmann of

Katala Foundation

Indira’s work protecting the Critically Endangered Philippine cockatoo (Cacatua haematuropygia), which has declined by a staggering 80% over the last 40 years, has involved the creation of habitat reserves and community conservation initiatives on Palawan island - home to 75% of the remaining 1,200 wild individuals. She has helped populations recover through community oriented conservation and innovative partnerships to help protect key habitats and build pride for this unique parrot. 

Visit the related SOS Philippine Cockatoo Project page here.




2017 - Whitley Award: Sanjay Gubbi of the

Nature Conservation Foundation

For three decades, Sanjay has been championing tiger conservation in his home state of Karnataka – also home to 20% of India’s Endangered tigers (Panthera tigris). His approach is based on engaging local communities, working with influential religious leaders but also providing practical livelihood solutions to help reduce human wildlife conflict.
Visit IUCN's Integrated Tiger Habitat Conservation Programme here



2016 - Whitley Award: Dr. Muhammad Ali Nawaz of the

Snow Leopard Foundation

Acknowledged for his passionate work on community-focused conservation programmes to curb poaching and retribution killing of Endangered Snow Leopards (Panthera uncia) in Pakistan’s Gilgit-Baltistan Province, Ali’s story is one of dedication to changing life in conflict to one of coexistence with nature.

Visit the related SOS Snow Leopard project page here.



2016 - Whitley Award: Karau Kuna of the Tree Kangaroo Conservation Programme

Karau Kuna, Conservation Strategies Manager of the Tree Kangaroo Conservation Program, received the honour during the prestigious Whitley Award ceremony at the Royal Geographical Society in London on 27 April 2016. The award, presented by the Princess Royal, Princess Anne, was in recognition of Karau Kuna's work to establish tree kangaroos as a flagship to protect Papua New Guinea's spectacular wildlife in the YUS conservation area on the Huon Peninsula.
Visit the related SOS Tree Kangaroo Conservation Project page here.



2015 - Future For Nature Award: Karen Allen of the Endangered Wildlife Trust

The EWT’s Karen Allen, Project Executant of the Source to Sea Programme’s Dugong Emergency Protection Project, was the proud winner of a Future For Nature Award – one of only three awards made from many entries globally. The Netherlands-based Future For Nature Foundation recognises the protection of species of wild animals and plants and the conservation of nature in general. The Foundation aims to stimulate a new generation of nature conservation leaders by providing support to young, highly committed and talented conservationists. In this spirit, the Foundation awards young conservation leaders like Karen who inspire and mobilize others.
Visit the related SOS funded Dugong conservation project page here.



2015 - Kudu Award: Adam Pires of the Endangered Wildlife Trust 

The EWT Skills Development Programme scooped a Kudu Award during the prestigious South African National Parks 2015 Kudu Awards ceremony held on 16 October 2015 in Johannesburg. The award, presented by the Minister of Environmental Affairs, Ms Edna Molewa, was in recognition of the EWT's sterling efforts to build capacity among law enforcement officials to tackle illegal wildlife trade. The annual Kudu Awards recognize individuals and groups that have contributed to the conservation of nature. "This award is a great achievement for the EWT and shows our ongoing commitment to fight illegal wildlife trade", says the EWT's Skills Development Programme Manager, Adam Pires.
Visit the related SOS funded South African Cycad conservation project page here.



2014 - IUCN WCPA Fred M. Packard Award: Widodo Ramono of YABI

The IUCN/WPC Fred M. Packard Award recognized Mr. Widodo Ramono, the executive director of Yayasan Badak Indonesia (YABI), the Rhino Foundation of Indonesia, for his long dedication and inspirational leadership in preventing Sumatran and Javan rhinos from extinction. The award was presented in November 2014 at the World Park Congress in Sydney.
Visit the related SOS funded Sumatran Rhino conservation project page here.



2012 - Whitley Award: Carlos Vasquez Almazan of FUNDAECO 

Carlos Vasquez Almazan, an amphibian expert and programme co-ordinator at the conservation non-profit, FUNDAECO, received the honour during a ceremony at the Royal Geographical Society in London, in May 2012. The award, presented by the Princess Royal, Princess Anne, recognises his efforts to establish Guatemala’s first-ever nature reserve for amphibians in the Sierra Caral, following the discovery there of many species previously believed extinct or unknown to science, and to create a national network of other sanctuaries across the country.
Visit the related SOS funded Sierra Caral Amphibians conservation project page here.






Go to top